Adventures of a New Teacher – Day 7

I have to say looking back on today it was a pretty uneventful day. We worked on reviewing fractions in my math classes. The students seemed to do well with this. I didn’t have time today to look over their work tonight so thats the plan for my planning hour tomorrow. I do have to say as we work more and more they are starting to work longer on things, which I am really pleased with. They are are not giving up as easily and are asking more questions than they have been! I want to keep developing this as we more forward in the year. I would also like to start to cultivate a sense of curiosity as to why the things we are doing work.

I am really happy with how things are playing out with the rest of the program. Our students have adjusted well to their new surroundings but there have been some policy changes that they are not the biggest fans of. I am doing my best to fight for the ones that are most important. I was able to make sure that they will be included in spirit week the same as high school students, which was big. I was able to sit down with some of the students from the old program about things they did in the past and I think I’m going to be able to make a lot of those things work. I’ll share later once I know exactly these will be. Hopefully by doing this the transition will be even better!

I think I have said in the past about how the other teacher I was supposed to work with is on medical leave this year. During this last week and a half students who came from the old program have told me stories about all the amazing things she did for them and today said that she was like a mom to a lot of them. I know that I can never compare to all the awesome things she was able to do. My goal is to do my best to make it the best year possible for our students! I think students understand this and they even told me today that I would soon be a part of the family. It really meant a lot to me to hear this from students who are coming from the old program.

And Mrs. Foster if you are reading this we have a surprise coming for you soon 🙂

Leave a comment