Adventures of a New Teacher – Day 2

Today was day 2 and I have to admit I feel like we’ve already been in school for a week. I have done so much in the last two days and still feel like I have so much to do! Today I found out that a majority of our student’s online component is not set up right. Luckily our new counselor has been amazing in helping us get everything figured out. I don’t know what we would do without her! I keep telling myself that by the end of the week we will have things figured out. For right now I’m just going to focus on what I can control and the successes we are having and today was definitely one of those days!

I have a majority of our students in either one of the two math classes that I have a dedicated hour for and we spent our day on the Marshmallow Challenge. I was nervous going in how much students would participate and how they would feel about things in general. To my delight they took the challenge and ran with it! Everyone really got into it and tried really hard to beat each other.

After we finished and we talking about how everything went I heard one of the best responses I could have hope for. The question was are things like this (hands on) going to be how the class will run. When I told they that it was my goal you could see the relief and to here them say that math is so much more fun (yes they said fun!) when we are doing it hands on. It made me feel so great that these kids are willing to put in the effort and participate in class early on in the year. It will definitely give me the motivation to provide as much hands on learning as I possibly can during the year!

Cannot wait to see what tomorrow brings!

Leave a Reply

